If you weren't aware already, Google announced a new advertising system just a few days ago which uses “shared endorsements” in their search results as well as in the Google Play store. These shared endorsements have the potential to include your face and name or your family and friends. Of course, there is a way to opt out of these shared endorsements to keep your name and face from showing up in Google's advertisements.

According to Google's help page on “How Shared Endorsements Work“, here is the procedure to do this:

How to turn on or off shared endorsements on ads:

  1. Sign into your Google account. If you came to this page while still creating your account, finish that process first, then come back here.
  2. Go to the Shared Endorsements setting page. If you are not already a Google+ user, you will be asked to upgrade your account.
  3. To allow people to see your name and photo in shared endorsements appearing in ads, check the box next to “Based upon my activity, Google may show my name and profile photo in shared endorsements that appear in ads.” Then, click the “Save” button to save your new setting.
  4. If you’d like to disable this setting, just uncheck the box and click “Save.” Remember, unchecking the box means that Google won’t be able to share your recommendations with your friends in some cases where they might otherwise see and benefit from them.

So in other words you want to sign into your Google Account, click this link, and verify that the checkbox is unchecked. Some users are reporting that their account is opted out by default, but the general consensus is finding their account opted in automatically.